Self

Are you getting distracted?

It’s been a long while since I’ve written a post, and it’s because I was getting distracted. I have been working towards a career change, and this year I also wanted to get back into doing things that I love doing but have neglected. Sadly, I am not where I wanted to be yet. I haven’t achieved as much as I had hoped I would. So I became discouraged. This led to me questioning myself. When I throw a pity party, I go big :p Basically, I started feeling like I was wasting my time, I questioned my intelligence, I even started feeling physically ugly! So naturally, in pity party mode, I stopped trying for a bit. Taking a break from something isn’t bad, but when you keep extending that break again and again, it becomes procrastination. I felt like a failure. Since I stopped trying, I suppose I was. But the difference between failing and succeeding is not getting back up again and trying when you have failed.

It took my friends, family, and random acquaintances to remind me that my goals are worth it, that I am worth it. That I am not stupid, or ugly, just a little discouraged, but I will get there. Getting discouraged is nothing to be ashamed of, but it is a distraction that you can’t let get the better of you. So here I am, trying again, and hopefully building up some resilience, because admittedly, I am a bit of a light weight. One night when I was doing a devotional (something I hadn’t done in a while, I didn’t stop believing in God, but I felt like I was taking a break from speaking to Him or listening to Him too- I was in pity party mode you know), and it was about distraction. In the Christian sense, it was about the devil distracting you from Christ and living the awesome life He wants for us. But even if you aren’t Christian, you can definitely benefit from becoming aware of those things distracting you from an amazing life.

If you want to make friends, or meet that special someone, but you are distracted by your fear of rejection, or thinking you are not good enough, or any other number of things that stop us in our tracks when it comes to approaching people, how are you ever going to meet that someone, or make friends with those people? If you want to achieve a goal, getting distracted by laziness, or wanting to do other more fun things when the going gets tough (too many episodes of series, too much partying, etc), how will you reach your goal? Perhaps you want a better life for your family, but you work so much that you are distracted from spending time with them, their life may end up better, but I am sure their idea of better includes you being an active part of their lives too. Same with working so hard and so much that you are distracted from taking care of yourself. So many distractions.

Sometimes it seems impossible to avoid all the many distractions. But I think it’s important to know what your distractions are. Taking some time out from working hard is a good thing, not a bad thing. Even eating that cheat meal once or twice a week is a good thing, because it lets you know you can have let go of the reigns a little, and that the world isn’t going to end because you ate a chocolate. Distractions that are good, are not really distractions unless they become excessive. There is such a thing as too much. Moderation is key, life is meant to be enjoyed after all. But there are distractions such as fear (I am not talking about the fear that warns you when you are being reckless, like when you drive too fast or contemplate tight rope walking or something like that), but the fear that keeps you from doing something great, like fear of rejection, fear of inadequacy, fear of responsibility, fear of failure, etc. Worrying about the future so much that you forget to live today. Those are distractions we can do without.

Those bad distractions don’t just go away. We are all human and are bound to experience them at some point or another. I think the best advise I can offer here (and I am definitely no expert, so if you are really struggling, there are books out there, or people in your life that can help you a lot better than me) is focus on the positive. Look how far you have come and what you have a achieved, especially when you achieved those achievements that you had serious doubt about ever achieving. Look at the friends and family around you. What are you thankful for? Even if you have nothing else, you have life, and the ability to do better in some way. If it is about insecurities about your appearance, know that there is more to life than looks, even the most physically perfect person (envision the hottest person you know here), will be ugly if they are rude and arrogant meanies who care nothing for others. Find what is beautiful about you, and love that, and accept the not so beautiful parts, especially those you can’t change, they are not what make you who you are.

Purposefully seek out what is good in your life right now, and if the bad is something you can change, then do so, if not, rather concentrate on what you can. I promise there is so much that is awesome about you, and about your life if you just look. Perhaps the present isn’t what you want it to be, but growth and change takes time. So enjoy the time you have right now, tomorrow has it’s own cares, enjoy what is good about the present. Keep working towards a better you, towards a better future, and don’t let those nasty distractions keep you from being awesome everyday 🙂

Leave a Reply

