Overall health

Finding motivation

So during the last few months, I have definitely fallen off the wagon a little. I recently had a bit of an aha moment. We all have values, but so often, despite having those values, the way we live sometimes doesn’t reflect that we have those values. I think that sometimes we lose sight of what it is that is important to us, and why they are important to us.

By all means, I think a break is good. I have been taking one, in a few aspects of my life, e.g, eating healthily, writing on my blog, practicing guitar, etc. We all need a break sometimes, life does get in the way sometimes and we need to just take some time for ourselves and a break from working so hard. Certainly when life gets rough, a lot of us fall. There is nothing wrong with that, its when we don’t pick ourselves up again that it becomes a problem.

A big stumbling block for me last year towards the end of the year was that I was just not enjoying my job anymore, in fact, I had never really enjoyed it, but as long as I was learning, I was stimulated enough to work without hating it. But after a while, I had learned what I could, and the opportunities offering advancement weren’t appealing. I kept wishing I could do something else, more meaningful, where I can make a difference and where I am excited to get up in the morning. Why was I stuck doing something that wasn’t important to me (aside from obviously earning a living :p)? Another huge aha moment.

We all struggle with motivation sometimes, we struggle with laziness, tiredness, fear of failure, fear of responsibility, being over burdened by everything else going on, etc. There are many reasons we lose motivation. But what it comes down to is deciding how important something really is in your life, how badly you want to achieve that goal. Because that is the driving force. Although I am pretty sure most successful people thoroughly love what they do, I am sure there are some aspects that they didn’t enjoy in getting to the top and staying there. But often what is required of us is pushing through and doing the nitty gritty things that we don’t like, so that we can achieve our goals. We may even love doing something, but not always feel like doing it that day, we don’t always want to put in the time and effort right then and there. Decide whether you really need a break or whether you are just being stubborn.

So this year, I want to pursue what is important to me. Healthy living is important to me, encouraging others to be healthy and to be the best version of themselves that they can be is important to me, I want to become a more resilient person and still be kind towards others. Music is important to me so I will practice playing my guitar, and I want to stop being so afraid to pursue what I love.

What is important to you? Create an action plan to achieve those goals, and think of what you can do to reward yourself when you achieve them. If something is not really important to you, should you still be doing that thing, or is it something where you need to reconsider its apparent lack of importance? Be the best you that you can be this year and don’t compare yourself to others. The world needs you, not a copy of someone else 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

