Self

First steps- Getting to know yourself

No one stays the same throughout their life. As we mature and gain experience, we won’t always think or feel the same way about things, we won’t do the same kind of things, or do things in the same way that we did them 10 years ago.

So how then do we get to know ourselves if we are constantly changing? I’m sure there is no one particular answer to that question and there are certainly more answers out there than I can give.

I know that in my case I am quite an indecisive person, and have various fears that hold me back. But I think that through all the fog, my core is who I am. My beliefs, morals, values, my personality. These are also things that can change over time. I know that I am calmer and more patient than I was a few years ago, and I don’t see the world the same way anymore. I think the key is to know yourself in the moment. Who are you right now? What are your beliefs, what are your morals and values, what is your personality like? What are your likes and dislikes? What are your strengths and weaknesses? What are you interested in, what bores you? What makes you happy and uplifts you, what makes you sad or angry? It’s probably a good idea to know why you are who you are. What events or teachings have shaped you into who you are, and why did you choose to be who you are? Do you like who you are?

As we learn and grow as people, we will change, and some things about us may stay the same, hopefully the best parts of us. But in the here and now, we are who we are, and knowing who you are will give you the ability to change if you need to, to go after your passions, to enjoy life, and improve your skills and strengths, and work on our weakness, or at least understand them and work around them. It’s also good to remember that you are the way you are for a reason, both because of how we were created and who we choose to be. Please know, that your self worth and who you are should not be attached to your job, accomplishments or failures, how you look, or your level of education, or what has happened to you. Be proud of who you are and know that you are a person of worth. Be the best version of yourself that you can be. Don’t compare yourself to others, but look for those things that inspire you, this is why there are role models. Others are who they are and we are all complex human beings in our own right, with many aspects to who we are, some that others may not understand. Own who you are 🙂

Leave a Reply

